Word of the Day: Gift Guide

Today, my local paper has a special Holiday Gift guide section. In it are ads for local businesses, a couple of coupons for $10 off orders of $50 or more at the Jade Garden and  $5 off at the Pet Shop. There are also articles with helpful ideas for what to give the people on your list.

Now, Christmas is not exactly a gravy train for moms. We get the  macaroni encrusted picture frames, the hand lettered coupons promising the cheerful completion of chores at some future date – if it’s convenient, if there’s nothing better to do, if you don’t loose the coupon. Maybe.

But, now that my kids are a little older, I have been guardedly hoping that this Christmas might be payback time. Payback for the Wii that I stood in line for at dawn, payback for the Barbie Foldin’ Fun House that I arm wrestled for in the Aisle of Toys R Us, payback for all of the years that I stayed up until 3 o’clock in the morning wrapping gifts, filling stockings and disguising my handwriting to look like Santa’s.

So I was eager to see what gift suggestions my local paper had for my kids and husband to buy for me.  I know I’d like some nice leather boots, maybe one of those little Flip video cameras, a small flat screen tv for the kitchen. But no. There in black and white – under  gift ideas for Mom is “A sentimental letter or framed picture of mom and the kids is likely the best gift of all.”

Don’t forget to decorate that frame with elbow macaroni.

Merry Christmas.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Word of the Day: Gift Guide

  1. Theo

    I’m 14 years old, and over the years I have given my mom many hand-written poems, clay sculptures, and paintings I made in art class. Even though the presents I give her now may be a little more sophisticated, they’re still things that I come up with, and get because I think she will like it, not because she told me to. But those presents aren’t any better to her than the things I made when I was little. She still has a portrait I painted of her for Valentine’s day when I was in 5th grade hanging up on the wall in he bedroom. I can’t imagine not liking a gift from your child because it wasn’t good enough, or being upset that they gave you something they made instead of something material. Don’t you think your kids would be disappointed if they knew that’s how you really felt? Christmas isn’t about whether or not you get a flat screen tv, it’s about being happy and spending time with people you love.

    • cband

      You are wise beyond your years, kiddo. And yes, I do appreciate handmade gifts – when there is thought behind it. Not just “Oh, shoot…I didn’t get Mom anything, I think I’ll scribble a coupon for washing the car sometime next spring.”
      Merry Christmas to you!

  2. Perry

    Why are you visiting parenting blogs if you’re 14 years old? Did your mother put you up to this so you could eventually attach it to your college application as a writing sample? Perhaps you should forgo the application altogether and just attach a handmade piece of art.

Leave a Reply

