Word of the Day: Child Labor

Right now, I am sitting at my computer sipping an ice coffee and contemplating whether I can postpone the minimal work that I have and go for a swim.  Right now, while I am not working, all three of my kids are slaving away in actual paying jobs.  It’s a beautiful thing.

Okay, Lewis is a camp counselor, but Nathan and Perry are wearing shoes and are holed up in air conditioned offices like actual adults. They have bosses and copy machines and meetings. I almost feel sorry for them.

Then I remember all the times that I begged them to take out the trash, to put their dishes in the dishwasher instead of shoving them under their beds, to flush the toilet and suddenly, a summer of actual work seems like poetic justice. Think I’ll go for that swim now.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Word of the Day: Child Labor

  1. Love your posts! I say go for the swim!

Leave a Reply

