Word of the Day: Fung Wah

H and I took the Chinatown Fung Wah bus from Boston to NYC for the weekend. Fifteen bucks ($15!) and the bus didn’t explode. So, I guess the trip was a success.

 

Fung Wah bus

Call me out of touch, but I was surprised that everyone on the bus …everyone was on their cell phone the whole entire time.

“Hi, I’m on the bus.”
高盛華香香港

“Can you hear me, I’m on the bus – yeah, the Chinatown bus.”

高盛華香香港

I am not distracted by someone talking on their cell phone in Chinese. But if someone is speaking English- even if it’s an asinine conversation, I am riveted.

“Yeah, I’m on the bus… the bus. Yes. The Fung Wah bus.”

Fung You.

Translated, Fung Wah, means Magnificent Wind. And while the ride wasn’t exactly magnificent, it didn’t blow, either.

 

 

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Word of the Day: Fung Wah

  1. Ginna’s boys ride the Magnificent Wind all the time! For $15 what’s not to like??! Jona and I are always on the look out for the bus when were on the road north. A siting must mean good luck, right? Gung Hay Fat Choy– Happy New Year!

  2. cband

    We owe you and Ginna a dinner. Call me when you are coming this way. Ride the Magnificent Wind to Boston.

    Your website-your artwork-looks terrific.

    C-

  3. Joy Fleming

    Carol,
    I love your blog! It parallels my life in this strange world of grown children and elementary school classrooms.
    Joy

  4. Clarissa

    Carol: I wanted to send this to Nick but know I can’t because I “forbid” them from taking the Fung Wa bus. Of course, they do any way. Now, I am like the little old lady mother and send them articles from the Globe about each bus crash. Clarissa

  5. Pingback: chinatown bus » A Household Word: Fung Wah

  6. JOan

    What about the New York part? Forget the bus ride…

Leave a Reply

