Word of the Day: Democracy

The town I where I live has 42,389 residents. It is not a small town. Yet, it often seems like a tiny village – in good ways ( like how I always run into someone I know at the grocery store) and in bad ways (like how I always run into someone I know at the grocery store).

Today, I was at the Town Hall.180px-arlington_town_hall.jpg

I went to the Town Hall because I am running for re-election as a Town Meeting member and I had received a letter that to report to Town Hall at 5:30pm because they would be determining the order of names on the ballot. So I went. Nobody was there except the Town Clerk, the old guy who bags groceries at the supermarket… and me.

Turns out the official government procedure is: The clerk writes down the names of all the candidates on little slips of paper and puts them into a shoe box. Then, she shakes the box and the old guy who bags groceries at the market pulls the names out one by one.

Ah… Democracy!

 

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Word of the Day: Democracy

  1. Barbara

    This is delightful! Sometimes the old-fashioned ways cannot be replaced (including phones that don’t go everywhere we do). Love this blog!

Leave a Reply

