Word of the Day: Mail

It rained a few days ago and the skylight in my upstairs hallway leaked water down three flights of stairs.

My husband, who is only marginally handy, taped up some plastic sheeting that directs the water into a bucket – that’s fine as an emergency measure, but it’s a strictly temporary solution. Although I have to admit, it gives the house a kind of Goth ambience.

What we need is a guy with a big ladder and a willingness to climb it. Lewis volunteered immediately. He said that it’s easy to get onto the roof from his bedroom window. He does it all the time.

Great.

Usually, it’s my mailman, Bob, I turn to for recommendations regarding this kind of thing.

First of all, he’s a guy. Secondly, he knows everything that’s going on in the neighborhood and who’s leaking what and where. So, today when he delivered the bills mail, he was happy to point out that roofers were climbing all over a house just one block away. “Have them fix your skylight,” he said.

Bob, my actual mailman

I went over, yelled up to the guys on my neighbor’s roof and in an hour, a burly guy with a big, long ladder came to my house, climbed up, slapped some silicon caulking into the cracks of the skylight and for $50, the problem was solved. Thanks, Bob!

Special Delivery: Just now, the UPS man threw a package through the front door and almost wiped out the dog. My book! It’s the first author copy of my book!

My fantasy mailman

Bob, my actual mailman

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Word of the Day: Mail

  1. Our mailman is Larry. He’s a sweetie – looks perenially 20, but he’s been our mailman for at least 10 years, so he couldn’t be (20, that is).

    Anyway, what fun to find your blog, Carol. You were meant to blog. Blog on, girlfriend.
    Adria

  2. Ossum – I just uploaded a “shared image” of your book cover to Amazon. Should show up soon.

Leave a comment