Word of the Day: Acceptance

Last night I went to Parent/Teacher conferences at the high school. While I waited in the hallway for my five minutes with Lewis’ teachers, I chatted with other parents and realized that even though my son is only a sophomore, I am woefully behind in the whole college-prep thing.

“Did he take the PSAT’s? We hired a tutor and Ashley scored a perfect 2400.”

“Has he done his community service hours? Jason is going to Namibia to cure cholera during February break.”

“How many AP classes is he taking? Emily’s taking four. Right now, she’s home splicing DNA for AP Bio.”

Lewis didn’t take the PSAT’s, he hasn’t done any community service and he’s not taking any AP classes.

But, he’s a good kid. His teachers all said so. He’s got a terrific sense of humor, he does his homework (mostly) and he participates in class. I know that there’s a college somewhere that will take him. The key will be finding it.

When I got home from the teacher conferences, I had a bad case of college-prep jitters. I went on-line and looked at a few university websites. Then I found CampusCompare – a site where you can plug in your kid’s SAT scores, grade point average – even their extracurricular activities and find out their odds of being accepted at any college.  I’m pretty sure that once Lewis has test scores, a GPA and some community service under his belt, that he’ll find a school that’s the right match.

The trick will be finding a way to pay for it.columbia

P.S.

This morning, I was stuck at a red light behind a Volvo with decals from Harvard and Columbia. I wanted to jump out of my car, pound on the window and demand “What were your kid’s SAT scores, what was their GPA?  Were they in the Latin Club?” Fortunately, the light turned green.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Word of the Day: Acceptance

  1. mywalletmarketcom

    Now there are a lot of sources online. ISEE Test, SSAT Test Score Test Prep. Anxiety, Test Taking, GRE, GMAT, LSAT, BAR, MCLEX, ASVAB, ASWB, NCE, Praxis, Counselor Exam, Engineering Exam, Engineer Exam, Social Work Exam, and more… The students are very lucky. Because of many sources can be easily.

Leave a Reply

