Word of the Day: Snow Job

Every December, my daughter complains that our Christmas tree is scrawny. But frankly, I just can’t bring myself to spend $50 or $60 for a tree that will be up in our living room shedding needles for a week or two and go into the trash right after New Year’s.

So, I go to a place where there are trees for $19.89. Sure, they aren’t the bushiest trees, but usually I can find one that is tall enough to scrape the paint on the ceiling and once it’s decorated and the lights are lit, even a Charlie Brown tree looks great.charlie-brown-tree-m3

Blame it on the economy, but this year,  I when dragged my sons to the Christmas tree lot to pick out our $19.89 special, the lot was empty. They were sold out of cheap0 trees. The tree guy showed me a $22 tree that came up to my chest and was  squashed on one side. “This is the least expensive tree we have,” he said.  We rejected it.

“But we always get a $19.89 tree, ” I grumbled. “It’s our holiday tradition. We always come late and there are always plenty of trees here.” It  started to snow as we began to trudge back to the car. “I can’t believe that this is the first year that we won’t have a $19.89 tree,” I whined said as we started to leave. It’s possible that I laid it on a little thick.

Maybe it was because I had Lewis and Nathan with me, or maybe it’s  because I am a pushy broad, or maybe – just maybe- it was the Christmas spirit,  but the tree guy took me aside.

“Pick out a $50 tree,” he said. “‘l’ll give it to you for $19.89.”

So…this year we have the nicest, bushiest tree that we have ever had. snow-0065In fact, it’s so perfect that it looks fake.

Still, I miss the Charlie Brown tree.

It has been snowing all day!

It has been snowing all day!

Leave a comment

Filed under Blogroll, Humor, Families, kids, Parenting Humor, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

